This help page outlines the steps for both deleting or de-activating both contacts and companies.
If any of these features are not accessible to you, you may need your administrator to update your delete permissions.
To set a company inactive, you should edit it, and change the status to "inactive". Alternatively you may be able to progress it to an inactive status using the status ribbon (provided your administrator has created such a progression).
Inactive objects are hidden from most searches and lookup or select fields that apply to it. It's contacts, however, will still be active, and they will still have active affiliations to that company.
To permanently remove a company, from the View Company screen, click Company > Delete Company from the taskbar.
This is only advised for deleting dummy data or real data which you are 100% sure you do not wish to retain. If there is any real billable time associated with any of the records linked to the company, we recommend you do not permanently delete!!
If you have contacts on that company that you do not want to delete then you must first affiliatate/link them with another company.
Whilst deleting a contact is possible, in many cases, you may just want to unlink them from a company. The way to do this is when viewing the company:
This means they are no longer associated with that company, and hence users won't be able to open an issue, send an email, associate a job (and so on) with that contact from that company. If this contact is still connected to another company (they have other affiliations) - these will continue to work as normal. Inactive affiliations can be found using the "Show inactive" button - and you can then edit the affiliation to restore it if needed.
A contact record itself has a status. You can edit a contact and change their status to be inactive. This will cause the contact to no longer appear in search results - even if they still have active affiliations. If you set a contact to inactive, you should also unlink their affiliations to avoid confusion.
None of these processes will remove activities, issues or other items they are connected to in the system.
From this screen you can preview all the related records which will be deleted. Please review carefully, as this process is not reversible.
Click "Confirm permanent removal" to delete the contact and all the linked items listed. This includes any activities linked to that contact.