When you have finished with a sales (or prospects) record it should be actioned. This indicates it is no longer active and you will be asked to enter the "Actioned date" and whether it was successful.
Successful or not, actioning indicates that this sale is closed and no longer in the pipeline. It is also hidden from searches by default.
You can action a sale from the Sale view screen as shown in the image to the right:
OR you can action a sale from the Sale List screen:
Note that clicking the "Action" button isn't the only way to action a sale. An administrator may have configured the status progressions so that the actioning occurs during some of your progressions, such as from "Verbal Approval" > "Signoff" (for example).
See Sale Setup for more
Before you close a sale you may want to setup a job, contract or even an issue that could be the outcome of the sales work. Whilst viewing the sale, on the taskbar, the New Opportunity button allows you start setting up a job (for example) which is then listed under the Opportunities section further down the page:
The advantage of creating say, a job, from here is that the sale record, as well as the job record will reveal this relationship, so users can easily find the sales conversations related to a project (and vice versa).
Once you add opportunities, the total budget value of these will overwrite the value of the sale.